Thursday

Cats

I had to round up the cats and put them in the garage this morning so that they wouldn’t get in the way. They knew that something was happening and were not having any part of it. They hid under tables and ran for cover whenever I got close. I began to understand the phrase “like hearding cats”

Cancelled

I had one meeting this morning and I had all morning to prepare for it. I managed to avoid doing the preparation until half an hour before. The meeting was cancelled two minutes before the start. I was a little disappointed but mainly relieved.

Cyclists

I nipped home to make sure the cats were alright and, on the way, bumped into two people I used to cycle with. We had a quick chat about how work gets in the way of cycling before we parted ways. I might cycle with them again when I’m once more out of work.

Work

This afternoon was almost as dull as this morning. I had a few meetings to go to but I wasn’t really engaged. It was unlikely that I’d be there in a few weeks time.

News

Loved One rang to say that the results of her blood tests had come back and they indicated that there was no cancer. This was a good thing.

Spin

I left work early and headed home for a sweaty session on the bike trainer. I needed to do something physical to counteract the stimulating day.

Flatpack

I had some time after showering and dressing so I set about constructing the flat pack furniture. I made plenty of this stuff in the past and know from bitter experience that the best way to approach it is slow and methodically. To rush it is to bodge it. An hour later I had a small table and a bedside table and only a few bits left over.

Dinner

We had chicken and chips for tea. The chicken was marinated in honey soy and the chips were oven chips. We had it all with a small green salad.

Whisky

Once the tidying away was done I sat on the sofa with a large glass of whisky and filled the good of time between dinner and bedtime.

Leave a comment