Monday

Morning

I woke to the morning pains in my legs; my heels were sore, this is relatively normal and goes after a while. The pain in the calf was a little more annoying. Walking down the stairs was a little comical. I’d not planned on doing anything physical today and that was a bit of a relief. I blundered round the kitchen and attempted to make a bacon omelette. I was suffering from that Monday morning feeling. It would take more than an extra cup of tea to get over it.

Couscous

I’ve reverted back to couscous for lunch, this time I mixed it with a copped pepper and spring onion. I seasoned it with some balsamic vinegar. It tasted like crunchy balsamic vinegar with bits in. It wasn’t unpleasant but it could have done with a little olive oil.

Train

I left work late because a meeting over ran. I knew it would and I was mentally prepared for a late exit. I hadn’t planned to do much this evening. The trains were delayed again, something to do with an electrical power failure early in the day. Even if I had left work at the normal time I would have caught the same train home. Sometimes this reliance on trains isn’t that great but it’s a whole lot better than driving

Salad

The hungers hit me the moment I stepped through the door. I needed food and I needed it right now. I whipped up a salad with new potatoes as centre piece. I’d over cooked the potatoes the day before but I wasn’t going to throw them away. They will be a watery feature of my evening meals for the next few days. I hid them under a small mountain of mayonnaise. That usually does the trick.

Cup Cakes

After a severe amount of procrastination that saw the kitchen cleaned to almost spotless I started work on the final part of ‘the thing’ all I had to do was enter 60 lines of dates and places and it would be done. The first years’ worth of dates flew by but then I felt “the calling”. Mum had given me some cupcakes and they were in the freezer. I have no qualms about eating frozen cake. The calling got so loud that I made the journey to the freezer far too many times whilst I was finishing off ‘the thing’.

Commit

‘the thing’ is done, I’ve paid a lot of money. There are still a few hurdles to jump but barring all the things that could go wrong, this time next year I could be in a very different place. I get the feeling I’m about to “make that left turn at Albuquerque” (my favourite bugs bunny quote and one I use to describe my life plan)

Leave a Reply

