Friday

Breakfast

I skipped the scales this morning as I didn’t feel strong enough to face the truth. My Achilles was hurting and I was hobbling round the house like an injured runner. I don’t like being injured especially a foot or heal injury. Last time I had an injury I didn’t run for a year. I don’t want to repeat that; I’ve entered a marathon next year. I consoled my dark thoughts with scrambled eggs on toast. It was the last of the bread, I added it to the growing list of food items I really should buy.

Decisions

I love the illusion of a management decision. I’ve been working on this project for quite a while now and the next step is utterly obvious, for various reasons we are not going to deliver the project as planned. Some elements of the project will have to be postponed until next year. It’s even obvious which ones. I still have to go through the farce of presenting the facts and options to management so that they can decide the best course of action based on their undoubtedly superior knowledge and insight. The fact that there is no other course of action that can be taken is neither here nor there. Mind you they have to then sell the solution to their managers who are even more out of touch with the reality of the situation and more concerned with numbers on a spreadsheet.

Disappointment

I learnt on the way home that an event I wanted to enter next year was full. It had filled in 10 days. I had the entry forms all ready to go. I could have kicked myself for not entering it last night. I was not happy.

German

I had a German lesson tonight. It has been a while and I was afraid that I had forgotten how to speak German. I hadn’t and my grammar was still as bad as ever. I can write in the past tense but have real difficulties speaking in it.

Tired

I should have gone to bed but instead I sat in front of the television watching mindless gameshows until far too late. I don’t know why I do this. I knew I had to get up in the morning

Leave a Reply

