Wednesday

Morning

I wore up with a foul taste in my mouth. It was that metallic taste of having a cold. My voice was a little croaky too. I mentally debated about staying in bed but eventually decided to get up and get ready for work. It was then that I discovered the snot monster had been jumping up and down on all my joints.

Breakfast

I had a bacon omelette for breakfast, not that I could taste it. I still thought that I was well enough to go to work though

Train

The walk to the train was a trail by tissue. My nose seemed to issue mucus at a rate that far exceeded the input of liquids into my body. At this rate I would be a dried and shrivelled husk by mid-morning

Teleconference

My first task of the day was a teleconference. My voice was getting weaker and starting to sound like the voice of a heavy smoker. I spend most of the time on mute so that the other participants couldn’t hear the sneezing and coughing.

Tissues

The rest of the morning I spend mopping up snot with a rapidly increasing pile of tissues. My nose started to take on a festive read glow

Meeting

My last telephone meeting of the day was at 2. I couldn’t really participate due to the volume of mucus and the state of my voice. After the meeting I decided enough was enough and walked out of the building. There was no point in soldiering on, I needed fluids and rest in vast quanities.

Sleep

I got home at 4 and went straight to bed. I got up at seven and had a cup of tea and a bite to eat. I was back in bed for eight. It was one of the shortest evenings I’ve had in a long time

Leave a Reply

