Saturday

Phone

I was woken up by my phone but didn’t have time to register what it was, get out of bed, go downstairs and answer it. I left it a while and then wandered down by way of the scales, finding that I’d again lost weight, made a cup of tea and then looked at my phone. Not many people ring me on a Saturday morning as I’m normally swimming. It could only be my Mum. I rang her back to tell her that I was alive and brimming with snot. She mentioned that they might be passing later on so they might pop in. I went back to bed.

Knocking

I was woken by knocking on the door, it could only be my parents. I slipped some jeans on and let them in. Then I went back to the bedroom to get the rest of my clothes on. Mum had brought some food because I obviously can’t look after myself, if I could I wouldn’t be ill.

Lawn

Mum and Dad didn’t stay too long as they didn’t want to catch anything. Dad is pretty vulnerable to bacteria at the moment due to his treatment. After they left I sat around for a while feeling ill. It was one thing to be ill during the week when I should be at work but another to be ill at the weekend when the time should be my own. The lawn needed cutting, I’ve not got a large lawn so I decided that it was going to be trimmed. I was exhausted after trimming the few square meters of lawn. I was still ill.

Food Shopping

I was running low on fresh food but more importantly I was running low on cat food. I could survive but if the cat wasn’t fed things could turn ugly. I headed to the supermarket only to turn back a few minutes later to pick up my wallet. Things weren’t going well. I had no enthusiasm for food today. I had a short list and bought the items on the list and not much else. By the time I’d finished the expedition I was fit for nothing. I sat on the sofa with a cup of tea feeling worn out.

Video

Last weekend I’d taken some video of my niece and nephews playing in a swimming pool. As I wasn’t up to doing anything too physical I set about playing with some editing software to cut the hours of video down to a few minutes and to add music. It took a while to find all the decent clips and the music I’d selected made the whole thing have a rather sinister feel but in the end, I was quite pleased with the result. Now I’ve just got to work out how to send the clip to my sister.

Dinner

I couldn’t face the prospect of cooking the pie that was in the emergency food parcel so I had a salad instead. I washed it down with a few beers and then headed off to bed. It had been another highly unproductive day.

Leave a Reply

