Saturday

Coaching

I was tired and didn’t want to get out of bed this morning but I was coaching the early session so I had to. It was an easy set to coach, give the swimmers the instructions and let them get on with it. At the midpoint, I had to remind them to ensure that they were keeping to the timings. It wasn’t hard but I managed to miss one section of the set even though it was written on the board and on the bit of paper in front of me. No one seemed to notice so I may have got away with it.

Swimming

Then I swam the set. This is when I realised that I’d left a chunk of it out. The set was based around keeping a constant pace. In fact, it was very similar to the session that I’d one yesterday. I can do these sets reasonably well and everyone in the lane knows that so they use me as their metronome. I was shattered by the end of it. I felt that I’d earnt the toasted tea cake that I had in the café afterwards

Shopping

Went I do not need my car washed there are a swam of people in the car park asking me if I would like to have my car washed. When my car is filthy and needs to be washed they all seem to go into hiding. My car is exceptionally grubby at the moment. There was no one around to make it clean

Painting

I have been avoiding painting the little room for years but it couldn’t wait much longer. I’d bought the paint during the week and ear marked this afternoon to do the deed. I had intended to get a paint of a very similar colour. However, all the blues in the shop looked similar so I guessed. It was a lot darker than I had intended. I worked my way methodically round the room being as careful as possible not to spill or splash the paint. At the end, I felt that I had done a reasonable job of keeping the paint on the walls and off of everything else.

Duvet cover

I went up to the bedroom to get changed. That’s where I found out that the cat had rubbed her tail against the stick I’d used to stir the paint and then she had made a beeline for her favourite position on the bed. So much for keeping the house clean

Dinner

I was glad that Mum had invited me over for dinner this evening. It meant I didn’t have to think about cooking. She had prepared lamb shanks, my mother likes lamb shanks, she likes them a lot.

Tidying up

When I got back home the paint was dry and I could move some of the clutter back from the kitchen into the little room. This had the added advantage of allowing me to make a cup of tea.

Leave a Reply

